Home

17 Aug

Whenever I visit my hometown, which isn’t often, I go back feeling things will be the same. It’s not always the case, but I wish it to be that way. There’s maybe more good in having a constant in life than hunting for that next best thing. That is the thought that nudges me home. Despite the fact people and places change, home is very close to being a constant in life and comfort.

Last weekend I stayed in the house I grew up in. Small things I never really noticed as a child suddenly pop up and remind me I’m back. The wooden floors creak no matter how carefully or slowly I move across the hallway to my old bedroom. My twin mattress still firm after so many years, is smaller than I remembered as my feet hang over the edge. The colors of the bedsheets are noticeably faded, but today, my bed is neatly made.

There’s nothing quite like the smell of home either. The interesting combination of smells from the kitchen: sweat, cooking oil residue and medicine cabinets. It’s slightly acrid but not overwhelmingly so. An occasional breeze passes through the open windows to help remove the stale air.

Nothing really special stands out in my house– no beautiful mantelpiece or family heirloom on display. It is still distinctively home somehow.

My thoughts are interrupted when my mom comes to brag about the new windows she recently has installed and assures me that she’ll save money on the next electricity bill. She then proceeds to ask me for help with her new Ipad. I act equally impressed and amused by her. No matter how many improvements and changes they make, my parents are still the same.

It’s nice. I leave my guard down. I put my plans on hold. I eat and sleep well and don’t really think about tomorrow yet. For now I’m enjoying my brief respite.

2 Responses to “Home”

  1. katharinetrauger August 17, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    Love many things, here. Very effective writing. Thanks for taking me back . . .

    • jenahfah August 17, 2011 at 2:07 am #

      Thank you for the kind note! Much appreciated

Leave a Reply

